Carriages By Candlelight Highlights Unique Maymont Collection

Special Event To Benefit and Celebrate Carriage Program At Maymont

 

Carriages by Candlelight

 

Release Date: April 23, 2019

Maymont will present the second annual Carriages by Candlelight event, a unique celebration of the Maymont Carriage Collection, on Sunday, June 9 from 6 to 9 pm. Guests will enjoy delicious hors d’oeuvres and spirits among beautiful antique carriages displayed on Maymont’s Carriage House Lawn and in the historical Carriage House. Musical entertainment, creative themed displays and carriage rides will add to the magic of the evening. All proceeds from the event benefit the Maymont Carriage Collection and carriage driving program.

“The carriage-related experiences at Maymont are unique delights in the Richmond region,” said Parke Richeson, Maymont Executive Director. “Thousands of families and couples each year enjoy the excitement and charm of a horse-drawn carriage ride, and they marvel at the iconic Carriage House and wide assortment of carriages on display. It’s an immersive, dynamic glimpse into the past, and the Candlelight event celebrates and supports this exceptional program.”

Designed by Noland and Baskerville and completed in 1904, the Carriage House at Maymont is part of the 100-acre ornamental estate created under the direction of James and Sallie Dooley, the couple who once owned the property and lived there from 1893 to 1925. The building is faced with granite that was likely quarried on-site. The first floor included horse stalls, two carriage bays, and a harness room. The second floor included a hayloft and quarters for the coachman. The courtyard provided an area where horses were put to the carriages.

In the Gilded Age, fine carriages became symbols of status, and carriage driving was a pastime of the affluent. James Dooley loved horses and, with his wife, enjoyed riding and driving. While none of the Dooley’s carriages survived, Maymont’s collection of 25 vehicles reflects an appropriate estate inventory of the time. Highlights include an elegant Skeleton Boot Victoria by Brewster and Company, a Park Drag, a Landau by W. Larsons Ikker of Denmark and a Brougham by Henry Hooker, Vermont.

The Carriage Collection at Maymont was established in 1975 by Elisabeth Scott Bocock, the daughter of Frederick W. Scott, an associate of James Dooley. Bocock was a dynamic force in the arts and historic preservation in Richmond. In addition to her many contributions to the cultural development of the city, she also was well-known in Virginia and beyond for her love of carriage driving and side saddle riding. She founded the Early Virginia Vehicular Museum, for which she collected at least 60 horse-drawn vehicles, many of which became the nucleus of Maymont’s collection. Carriages by Candlelight is a tribute to Mrs. Bocock’s foresight, her generosity to establish the Maymont Carriage Collection displayed in the original Carriage House, and the active driving program at the estate that gives people of today a dynamic and memorable experience.

Tickets for Carriages by Candlelight are available for $100 per person. For more information and to purchase tickets, visit maymont.org/carriages-by-candlelight or call 804-358-7166, ext. 350. The Carriage House is located at Maymont’s estate entrance at 1700 Hampton Street in Richmond, Virginia. Guests of the event are encouraged to arrive early to tour the restored Maymont Mansion and explore the magnificent grounds including the historical Italian and Japanese Gardens.

Since 1975, Maymont has been maintained and operated by the nonprofit Maymont Foundation. The Foundation must raise more than $3 million each year through donations to keep the estate open to the public.

# # #

PDF version

Please contact us for images, interviews and further information.

SHARE THIS PAGE: